Enabling or Disabling Section Content Features

The Features tab of the Settings page for a section, shown below, provides the ability for instructors to enable or disable certain features surrounding the content they post to classes. These include:

Section settings page with features tab identified and options for procedures as described

Disabling Q&A (questions/discussions) for the section

Some instructors do not want to allow Q&A or discussion capability for classes. Disabling the feature removes the Questions panel from the classroom and removes the Q&A tab from the section. If users are currently viewing the section, they must refresh their browser to see the change.

Unless disabled for the institution by the Administrator, Q&A is enabled for all sections by default but can be disabled by an instructor for each section as desired.

Q&A disabling can be temporary as well, to eliminate discussions during a class or while engaging in polling activities. Any questions or responses posted to the section prior to disabling the feature are retained and will return when the feature is turned back on.  Remember though that students need to refresh their browser page, or leave the classroom and come back to see the Questions panel disabled. For this reason, if you want to disable Q&A during a particular class session, you should probably do so before class starts.

To disable Questions (Q&A) for a section

  1. Log in as an instructor.
  2. Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
  3. Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the above figure.
  4. Toggle the Q&A switch off to disable the Q&A/discussion feature for this section.
  5. Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.

Q&A functionality is now disabled. Users will not see the Questions button in their classroom toolbar, or the Q&A tab for any section.

NOTE: If students had entered questions (and bookmarked them) prior to the feature being disabled, those questions will still appear in the students' Study Guide. But no further questions or responses can be entered.

Allowing co-instructors to edit published content

By default, only YOU can edit content you own. Even once published to a class, no other instructors can edit your content. However, in some cases, you may want your class-published content to be edited by another section instructor.

In this case, if you are the PRIMARY instructor for the section, you can enable the ability for all content published to a section to be editable by any other instructor also assigned to the section. This capability is disabled by default. (The Primary instructor is the instructor listed first in the Instructor's page of the Settings tab; it is also the user who owns all classroom captures generated for the section.)

Enabling this feature applies to all class content across the section, and applies to all instructors, including YOU. Meaning you will also be able to edit content published (and owned) by other instructors. You can always edit your own content.

If an instructor selects to edit a piece of content that they do not own (does not appear in their Library), a message appears noting this, and asking to confirm that they want to proceed.

WARNING about cross-published content: Whenever an item is edited, the changes apply to ALL PUBLISHED VERSIONS of the content. This is also noted in the warning message shown when selecting to edit class content.
For example, if you teach two different sections of the same class and you publish the same content to both sections, if one of your co-instructors edits content from ONE of the sections, those changes will appear in the other section.

To enable co-instructor editing ability

  1. Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
  2. Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the above figure.
  3. Toggle the Co-instructors edits switch on (it is disabled by default).
  4. Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.

Edit commands will now appear in the content icon menu for editable class content for all instructors assigned to this section.

Disabling content download capability

By default, students and instructors can download content published to a class. If you do not want other users to download classroom content, you can disable this ability for any section. Disabling this feature applies to all class content across the section and all users (students and instructors). You can always download content you own.

If disabled, users will not see the Download menu option for class-published content.

Applies only to published classroom content: Disabling content downloads applies to the content published to classes; users can still download any content that appears in the My content tab of  their LIBRARY page.

To disable class content download ability

  1. Log in as an instructor.
  2. Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
  3. Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the above figure.
  4. Toggle the Content downloads switch off to disable the ability to download content (it is enabled by default).
  5. Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.

The Download option will now be grayed out for all class content, for both students and instructors for this section.

Enabling delayed video availability

By default, all video media is made available either when it is published to a class or on an availability schedule set by the person who published the item.  Some institutions, however, require that video media be closed captioned before it is made available for students. In some cases, the institution, or organization, or department sets the video availability feature. In some cases, this is set on a section-by-section basis by the instructor.

If Delayed video availability is enabled at the section level, all captures and videos (including instructor-uploaded video or audio files) published to the section MUST have closed captions applied before they are available for students to view. BE CERTAIN that your Institution has configured closed captioning through a provider OR a process for manually applying captions to video media. If you toggle this option on and automated captioning is not configured, your captures will never be available for students because they will never be captioned.

If you want to delay or expire availability of content NOT based on the application of closed captioning, see Making Content Available to Students and Editing Availability Settings for instructions.

Only Captures are automatically captioned; uploaded videos must be sent for captioning before they will be available: Only appliance-generated captures are automatically sent for captioning through the institution's closed captioning provider. If you upload and publish a video but this toggle is turned on, you MUST inform your administrator and request that the uploaded video be sent for captioning. Alternately, you can manually add captions to the video by uploading a caption file (.vtt or .srt).

To enable delayed video availability

  1. Log in as an instructor.
  2. Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
  3. Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the above figure.
  4. Toggle the Delayed video availability switch on.
  5. Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.

All video media published to this section MUST now have closed captioning before it can be viewed by students.

NOTE that the instructor view may indicate that the video is available to students - as the publishing-options likely set immediate availability. But if students are telling you that the video is unavailable, you may want to check to see if it has been captioned yet.