Enable/Disable Co-Instructor Editing Capabilities

By default, only owners can edit their content.  However, in some cases, instructors may want their co-instructors for a section to be able to edit class-published content.

In this case, the PRIMARY instructor for a section can enable the ability for all content published to a section to be editable by any other instructor also assigned to the section.  This capability is disabled by default, however as an administrator you can set the default to Enabled using the feature toggles at the institution, organization, or department level. (The Primary instructor is also the user who owns all classroom captures generated for the section.)

Enabling this feature applies to all class content across the section, and applies to all instructors. Meaning any instructor with visibility of the content published to a class will be able to edit content published (and owned) by other instructors. Owners can always edit their own content.

If an instructor selects to edit a piece of content that they do not own (does not appear in their Library), a message appears noting this, and asking to confirm that they want to proceed.

WARNING about cross-published content: Whenever an item is edited, the changes apply to ALL PUBLISHED VERSIONS of the content. This is also noted in the warning message shown when selecting to edit class content.
For example, if an instructor teaches two different sections of the same class and publishes the same content to both sections, if one of the co-instructors edits content from ONE of the sections, those changes will appear in the other section.

To enable co-instructor editing ability

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
    The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
  4. Navigate to the organization or department you want to set the default for, or remain on the Institution in the left panel.
  5. On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
  6. Toggle the Co-instructors edits switch on (it is disabled by default).
  7. Check or uncheck the Allow override checkbox to determine whether this toggle setting can be changed at any of the lower levels.
  8. Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.

Edit commands will now appear in the content icon menu for editable class content for all instructors assigned to a section.