By default, the Instructor listed for a capture or capture schedule is the owner of the generated capture. The capture appears in their library and they have full control over the item except that they cannot delete it.
The inability of a content owner to delete Library content applies only to appliance-generated captures, either scheduled by the administrator (typically for a section) or ad-hoc captures, generated by the instructor. Regardless, instructors can see the content in their libraries but cannot delete it.
Many institutions prefer that administrators be responsible for deleting this content, to ensure that only the appropriate items are deleted. Deletion is permanent and those captures cannot be restored.
Enabling capture deletion by instructors allows instructors to delete these content items from their libraries. This can be useful for removing captures for sections/terms that are no longer active or needed.
Be advised that deleting content removes it from all published locations, and also deletes any analytics, student notes or other items associated with the capture.
And we re-iterate: deletion of captures is permanent. That media cannot be recovered.
Instructor Capture Deletion is disabled by default but can be enabled at the institution level only; it cannot be set at the organization, department, or section level.
To allow instructors to delete appliance-generated captures
Instructors will now see a Delete option for all media in the My content tab of their Library page; previously the Delete option appeared but was grayed out for appliance-generated captures.