Disabling Shared Content Downloads

Some institutions do not want to allow users to download content that has been shared with them by another user. This content resides in the Shared with me tab of their Library page.

If shared content downloads are disabled, users can view the shared content item but cannot download the file(s) comprising it.

Shared content downloads are enabled by default but can be disabled at the institution level; it cannot be set at the organization, department, or section level.

To disable downloads of shared content across the institution

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
    The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
  4. On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
  5. Under Features, disable the Shared Content Downloads toggle switch (it is enabled by default).
  6. Click Yes on the confirmation message that appears.

Download functionality is now disabled for all content in a users Shared with me tab of their Library page. This has no effect on content they own, which resides in the My Content tab of the Library page. It also has no affect on whether content can be downloaded from a Class List. See Enable/Disable Class Content Downloads if necessary.