Editing Users

While users can edit their own personal information in the system, you as the administrator will need to edit the user role or add and remove sections associated with a user.

Editing users begins opening the USERS page and finding the user(s) you want to edit. You can make changes to individual users, or bulk changes for a group of users.

If you are trying to edit a user with a cross-linked LMS account, see Resetting LMS Users for information and instructions.

You can also deactivate a user. This retains their information in the system, including analytics, but does not allow them to log in.

Do not deactivate system-generated anonymous users. Public access links to sections require the creation of anonymous users in the system, allowing non-registered users to "pose" as these users to view sections. Deactivating these users can restrict or eliminate public access to sections that should be available to non-registered users. If you see a user whose name or email address begins with "Anon-", that user is likely one of the anonymous users set up for public section link access.

To edit a single user

  1. From the main menu, click USERS.
  2. Use the Search text box or the Filter drop-down lists to find the user(s) you need to edit. You can also sort the list by clicking a column header.
    Notice the chevron (down arrow) to the right of each row. This opens a menu of options for that user.
    Users page with chevron menu identified and open
  3. Click Edit Profile.
    The Edit User panel appears, allowing you to edit the First name, Last name, Email address, Phone number and assigned role(s).
    Edit user dialog box with editable fields as described
  4. When finished, click SAVE.

For information on adding or editing section enrollments for a user, see Assigning Users to Sections.

Depending on the current status of the user, your other options will include Resend invite (for Invited status users), Make active (for currently Inactive users), and Make inactive (which retains user information in the system but does not allow user to log in).

IMPORTANT: You cannot deactivate a user if they are the primary instructor for any sections. You must assign a different instructor to those sections (and ideally their associated schedules) first. Similarly you cannot change the section role to Student for the primary instructor on a section.

Editing multiple users (bulk-edits)

There are a few functions you can perform on a group of users at once, including re-sending invites, bulk-role changes, or bulk-deactivation.

To bulk edit multiple user

  1. From the main menu, click USERS.
  2. Use the Search text box or the Filter drop-down lists to find the user(s) you need to edit. You can also sort the list by clicking a column header.
  3. Click a check into the checkboxes of the users you want to edit. If your filter returned ONLY the users you want to edit, use the checkbox at the top of the list to check all users.
    Notice that the top of the Users list changes, to show the bulk-editing options for the users you selected.
    users list with selected users and bulk edit options as described
  4. If all of the selected users are in the Active state, the Active slider is available to make the selected users Inactive. (The opposite is also true; if all selected users are Inactive, the slider can be used to make them Active.)
  5. If all the selected users are in the Invited state, the Resend invite button is available, to resend system registration email to those users.
  6. To re-assign roles to ALL SELECTED USERS, enable or disable the role sliders, then click CHANGE ROLE.
  7. Review the confirmation dialog box closely, to be sure you want to assign/revoke the roles from ALL of the selected users.
  8. Click OK to confirm the role change(s).

Users will receive an email notifying them of their role change in the system.

VERY IMPORTANT!! The Role sliders identify which role(s) will be assigned to the selected users AS WELL AS which role(s) will be revoked. If the selected users currently have multiple roles, and you have enabled only one of the sliders, those users will have ONLY the selected role assigned. This also means that their enrollment in any courses as the other role-type is automatically revoked. This is stated in the confirmation message you receive.