Publishing and Sharing Captures

Captures can be published to one or more sections, or shared with one or more individuals.  Captures created for sections are typically auto-published when they are scheduled.  However you may need to manually publish a capture to one or more additional sections/classes.

ALTERNATELY, you can copy the public link for a video and post it anywhere you like, to allow non-Echo360 users to view the media. This may be an option if publishing does not provide sufficient access.

Publishing a capture to a class

"Publishing" simply means "putting the capture into a class so students and instructors can view it".

To publish a capture to a class

  1. From the Completed or Errors status list on the CAPTURES page, find the capture you want.
  2. Click on the capture row to open the capture details page
  3. Below the capture preview, click Publishing. Existing publishing information for the capture appears, as shown in the below figure.
    capture details page showing publishing information and options as described
  4. Click PUBLISH. The Publish to a new location dialog box appears.
  5. Select To a course.
  6. Use the drop-down lists to select a Course, then select a Section. Begin typing the course or section identifier in the text box for each drop-down list, to filter the list for easier selection.
  7. Select whether to create a New class or publish the capture to an Existing class.
  8. If you create a new class to hold the capture, enter the Class name, Start date, Start time, Duration, and a Description.
  9. NOTE: Class Date and Time are optional, but if there is no date, the class MUST have a name. In addition, classes with no date will appear at the bottom of the class list by default; users may have to scroll to see it.


    Publish to new location dialog box with new class fields showing as described

  10. If necessary, select Availability details:  
  11. Click PUBLISH.

Sharing a capture with another user

"Sharing" is the act of making a capture available to an individual by adding it to the Shared with me section of their LIBRARY page.  

If the user you are sharing the capture with needs to have full control or "ownership" of the item you may want to assign them as the owner instead of sharing it with them. If this is not appropriate, they can download then re-upload the content to generate a copy of it, for which they will be the owner. See Changing Ownership for further details.

To share a capture with a user

  1. From the Completed or Errors status list on the CAPTURES page, find the capture you want.
  2. Click on the capture row to open the capture details page
  3. Below the capture preview, click Sharing. Existing sharing information for the capture appears, as shown in the below figure.
    capture details page showing sharing information for capture as described
  4. Click SHARE. The Share to user dialog box appears.
    share capture to user dialog box with email address field as described
  5. Enter the email address of the user you want to share the capture with. Separate multiple addresses with commas.
  6. When finished, click SHARE.
    The new sharing information appears in the list below the capture.

The users to whom you shared the item should now see it in the Shared with me page of their LIBRARY. From there they can download the item or delete it when no longer needed.