Managing Sections

In any given term there may be multiple offerings of the same course, which are represented as sections. Sections get scheduled and those scheduled occurrences of the section are the classes students attend.

Once a section is created, managing the section involves editing the section ID, and adding or removing instructors from the section. You can also select a different "primary instructor" for the section if necessary. Primary instructors have certain rights over the features available for a section, and are also considered the "owners" of captures for the section.

Primary instructors as capture owners: When schedules are configured for a section, the primary instructor is the default presenter for the schedule. Unless changed, this makes the primary instructor the owner for those captures, appearing in their library. Owners can edit or republish this media but they cannot delete it. Only Administrators can delete appliance-generated captures.

You can delete the section when it is no longer needed.

NOTE: Deleting a section removes user access to those classes, and deletes all ancillary content such as notes, Q&A, and analytics data. Content published to the section remains in the owner's (instructor's) LIBRARY. Primary instructors for a section typically own the captures generated for the section.

To manage sections

  1. From the main menu, select COURSES.
  2. Use the search box or filter drop-down lists to find the course for the section you want to manage.
  3. Click on the course to expand it and list the Sections for the course.
  4. HOVER over the section you want to edit, to expose the action icons on the right side of the row.
    Course list with sections listed and action icons identified
  5. Click the Edit icon (it looks like a pencil)
    The Edit Section dialog box appears.
    Edit section modal with editable items for steps as described
  6. From the Edit Section dialog box you can:
  7. Click SAVE.

 

  • To delete a section

    1. From the main menu, select COURSES.
    2. Use the search box or filter drop-down lists to find the course containing the section you want to delete.
    3. Click on the course to expand it and list the Sections for the course.
    4. HOVER over the section you want to delete, to expose the action icons on the right side of the row.
    5. Click the Delete icon (it looks like a trash can).
    6. Review the warning message that appears.
    7. NOTE: Deleting a section removes user access to those classes, and deletes all ancillary content such as notes, Q&A, and analytics data. Content published to the section remains in the owner's (instructor's) LIBRARY. Primary instructors for a section typically own the captures generated for the section.

    8. To continue with deletion, click OK.